The National Geological Monuments Program

of the National Committee on

Geological Sciences




Leopoldo T. Virtucio*


            The Philippine archipelago lies along one of the most geologically active regions of the earth. The melding of different geologic terranes is reflected in the diversity of the physical character of its more than 7,100 islands. As a result of the interplay of the different geologic processes, the islands have evolved a landscape marked with numerous awe-inspiring formations.


                In order to ensure the protection and preservation of geological structures and features with high scientific, educational or aesthetic value and the promotion of awareness for geology among the public, one of the programs of the National Committee on Geological Sciences (NCGS) is the establishment of appropriate geological monuments.


The landforms already declared by the NCGS as National Geological Monuments include: the Montalban Gorge, Taal Volcano, the Chocolate Hills of Bohol, the Ilocos Norte Sand Dunes, and the Hundred Islands of Pangasinan.


Other sites being considered include: St. Paul Cave, Palawan; Mayon Volcano; Boracay Beach; Mount Apo; Maria Cristina Falls; Tiwi Hot Spring; and many more interesting sites, including type localities of prominent formations.


An understanding of the geological forces that brought about the geological monuments is expected to arouse greater interest in these scenic spots thereby promoting travel and tourism. Hopefully the end product of this program will be the uplifting of the scientific knowledge and awareness of the existence of such geological monuments in the country and, ultimately, a greater appreciation and sympathetic concern for the protection and preservation of these astounding features of our environment.

To get the whole report , please call (633-9025) or email us: 

Geological Society of the Philippines

Unit 250, 2nd Floor, Cityland Pioneer,

128 Pioneer Street, Mandaluyong City, Philippines

Tel: +(63-2) 633-9025